Why The UN?

Last night I volunteered and was elected to be the President of the UNAA NT Division.  What is that and Why would you?

The United Nations Association of Australia (UNAA) is an organisation dedicated to promoting the work of the UN. To create a safer, fairer and more sustainable world. Something I think is valuable to our community.

It is also an organisation that loves an acronym, I thought local government was bad but it is truly a new world in this space for me.

Volunteering is Important

I have also always believed that if you have the skills and knowledge, you should join the thousands of other Australians who volunteer their time to community organisations. At the moment I have a bit of time on my hands so why not invest it in a fantastic community organisation?

Learning New Things Helps

It is also a great opportunity to learn new things. For example, did you know that there are currently 145 International Days?

That’s a lot of days!  Don’t worry I will not be trying to talk about all those, although it would be interesting to have a quiz night around this theme…

Then there are the 17 SDGs (Sustainable Development Goals).

These goals were set in 2016 and aim to mobilise global efforts to tackle the big issues while making sure no-one is left behind. Great! So I am on board and hope to share the journey with you.

If you want to join me in this work hop on to the UNAA website and join or donate.

To leave you with a quote from the UN Secretary-General

“There is no Plan B because there is no Planet B”

3 thoughts on “Why The UN?

Leave a comment